RU15? Fifteen years of Klaustoon’s Blog

(Image stolen from )

So, just like that, on March 10 this randomly-updated blog became 15 years old, also marking, more or less, the kickstarting of my sort-of-career as an architectural cartoonist. And, just like that, after months thinking of writing this post, I, of course, completely forgot about it. At least, the excuse is that I’ve been spent my last three months working non-stop on the biggest piece I’ve ever been commissioned, so I was not writing this post (or even thinking of t) because I was drawing (more on this later).

Other than that, these 5 years since I last wrote one of these have been perhaps less intense than the 5 previous ones, mostly, perhaps, because they have been particularly intense (sometimes heartbreaking) outside my cartooning work. Still, they haven’t been completely uneventful, and have brought about collaborations with Architectural Design, Arq (which evolved into an interesting e-mail exchange with Robert Crumb), The Architectural Review, J-A Jornal Arquitectos (still to be published), as well as the consolidation of my (already pretty well-established) section ArquiNoir in Mexican leading Architecture Journal Arquine (thanks, guys, what would I do without you?), who have even featured me on their cover, and invited me to participate in some educational events. Also, some people have kept helping me get out of my lair by inviting me to speak about my work (here, and here, among a few others), published really nice and unnecessarily flattering interviews, or even spoken about my work in Domus (thanks, Gabriele!). Also, last, but definitely not least, a big thank you to MAS Context, my ally/patron/mentor in Chicago, who took the time to turn a random telephone talk into a real event, and, after that, managed to turn it into something bigger (see the beginning of this post, or this long but nutritious thread on twitter).

That is a non-comprehensive list, so thanks to all those who should be in it but aren’t due to my lack of memory and diligence, and especially to Laura R.M. Tramblin, who spent quite a nice amount of hours revamping this website to make it readable. Have you checked all the sections? Do it! (I also spent some time making additional drawings for all of them).

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com